Recent News

  • Friday, February 1, 2019 - 15:15

    The ERG Team of Wanda Pfeifer and Sajag Bhattarai are the December Employees of the Month. Please see their nomination below:

  • Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 14:45

    The Women in Ophthalmology (WIO) organization recognized Arlene Drack, MD, with their 2018 Scientific Contribution Award. The award recognizes a physician or non-physician scientist who has made a significant scientific contribution in the field of ophthalmology. It was presented to Dr. Drack at the 2018 American Academy of Ophthalmology Annual Meeting in Chicago.

  • Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 14:45

    Aishwarya Kothapalli ('19) presented her poster titled: the Long Term Outcomes of Patients with Anomalous Head Position due to Nystagmus and Strabismus treated with a Modified Anderson-Kestenbaum Procedure at the 9th Annual Fall Undergraduate Research Festival at the University of Iowa.

    Her poster abstract:

  • Monday, November 26, 2018 - 14:45

    Arlene Drack, MD (pediatrics/genetics) was promoted to tenured full professor and was one of 4 ophthalmology faculty honored yesterday for attaining professor status (others were Markus Kuehn, PhD; Scott Larson, MD; and Terry Braun, PhD -- more photos/info from event to be included in next week's Update). Dr. Drack is the first woman in the history of the department of ophthalmology to be promoted to tenured full professor. Dr. Drack recently received 3 grants to continue her research.

  • Friday, June 15, 2018 - 12:00

    Drack lab's Wanda Pfeifer, OC(C), COMT, Electrophysiology Coordinator and Technical Director, has received the 2017 Canadian Orthoptic Society Scientific Session Award for her presentation "Electrophysiology and its role in the diagnosis of Congenital Stationary Night Blindness." Congratulations, Wanda!

  • Monday, May 14, 2018 - 12:00

    We are proud to announce that lab members Taylor Dunn and Megan Helms ...